The Özdemirs are a talented group of blues and roots musicians who also happen to be family.

Bassist Erkan Özdemir, as well as being the father of the other two group members, has been booking and touring with American and European blues, soul and roots musicians for decades. Erkan’s love of American music has been so infectious that his sons also caught the blues bug at an early age. Kenan Özdemir- guitar and vocals and Levent Özdemir- drums and vocals, have become accomplished musicians in their own right. The Özdemirs have toured extensively and have backed various artists such as Memo Gonzalez, Kirk Fletcher, Sugaray Rayford, Trudy Lynn, Mike Morgan, Tad Robinson and even soul singer Johnny Rawls. They have toured from Norway to Italy, from Spain to Poland and everywhere in between, honing their chops, their ears and musical feel. This band has learned to be a cohesive unit by playing their own shows, touring often, and playing with various accomplished artists.

This new recording, “Introducing The Özdemirs” is an impressive recording debut with a lot of variety, groovy rhythms and original songs that reflect their love for blues, soul, funk and even R & B ballads. Furthermore, an added touch of rock and roll, gives The Özdemirs a contemporary flair as well. Armed with strong grooves and their own songs, The Özdemirs offer a new twist on a traditional theme. The use of a horn section led by Sax Gordon, the addition of female background vocalist Illaria Audino, a guest appearance by Trudy Lynn and the use of Hammond organ and piano give the record that extra kick. It’s truly a special debut album that is sure to attract attention everywhere.

The core of the band, Kenan, Levent and Erkan Özdemir, can certainly rock the house as a trio and give the audience a powerful show. Add in a few additional elements to their sound for their debut recording, and you have a fabulous introduction to The Özdemirs! 

Check them out, and tell them Duke sent you…

Duke Robillard

YouTube video



YouTube video


YouTube video

Photo: Lars Mølch


YouTube video



Kenan Özdemir – Gitarre & Gesang
Erkan Özdemir – Bass
Levent Özdemir – Drums